Instructor’s Manual

When SLACK asked me to consider writing an Instructor’s Manual to accompany the 2nd edition of the text, I hesitated.  I had never used an instructor’s manual in my own teaching and I wasn’t, at first, comfortable with creating such a document for upper level education.  But the more I thought about it, the more interested I became.  I came to view the Manual as a potential resource for instructors and faculty to help highlight major points in each chapter and to offer suggestions for coursework and classroom/seminar activities to accompany the written text.  I hope that it is proving to be just such a resource.

For example, in the Manual section related to Chapter 1, I suggest to the students and instructor to make “sense out of your experience in this classroom.”  The intent is to use the suggested activities to uncover the layers of meaning found in the everyday occupational experience of taking part in a class.  In the section related to Chapter 2, I suggest ways to help the student make connections between the meanings of occupation in theory and practice to their personal lives and experiences.  The concept of occupational injustice is explored, using a therapist’s narrative about the dining room policies in the nursing home as an example of therapy as it is experienced in real life.

I would be interested, as I’m sure others would be, in how the Instructor’s Manual is working as a resource for teaching and learning experiences.  As the new fall semesters and quarters begin this month for education around the country and the world, take note of experiences that stand out as teaching tools — both successes and failures.  And please share as you are able on the blog.  If any of you obtained the 2nd edition of the text and Instructor’s Manual in time for use last spring, I hope you will consider sharing your views and experiences of using the Manual as an educational resource.

Leave a Reply

